top of page
  • Writer's pictureSharmila Ganapathy

So where does one begin with slow fashion?

See your wardrobe for what it truly is


Wardrobe
How much do you really need? Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

Embarking on a slow fashion journey hasn’t been easy for me. First, I had to give up the notion that I could have multiple pieces of clothing on a small budget. Secondly, I had to curb my shopping habit in order to be able to afford sustainable and therefore better quality clothing.


I’ll be honest with you: it’s been a struggle for me seeing every other woman I know buy pretty dresses and other items of clothing online for a mere RM150 or RM200. However, I’m also a stubborn creature; once I set my mind on something I go all the way. And I’ve set my mind on slow fashion.


Having said that, I had no clue as to how to begin my sustainable fashion journey. I reckoned the first thing I should do before setting a budget aside for new clothing, would be to research the brands I already supported. Who knows, I might find one that was still reasonably affordable and sustainable/ethical at the same time?


I began by revisiting the website of the Ethical Fashion Forum and found a huge directory of brands and designers who are sustainable. While this was useful, I found it a little overwhelming. I decided to bookmark the directory link to revisit at a later date.


A couple of days later, I was browsing ethical fashion blogs when I came across a link to Project JUST, a website that evaluates the ethical practices of popular fashion brands. There are a total of 75 brands on the site, many which are available here in Malaysia and elsewhere in Asia. I recognised brands that I had ‘worshiped’ in the past, such as H&M, Forever 21, Mango, Old Navy, Topshop, Zara and Uniqlo.


I was curious as to whether any of these brands were sustainable and/or ethical. I clicked on each brand to read more about it. Needless to say, not one of these brands was truly transparent about its supply chains, or had a publicly-available environmental code of conduct. The realisation left me angry and yes, a little guilty for having supported them in the past.


Now that I had done some research, I realised that I would soon have to develop a strategy to create a more sustainable wardrobe. After mulling over this for a day, I decided on a four-step process:


1) Get the wardrobe basics sorted.

My biggest problem was that my closet was overflowing with clothes, yet I frequently complained that I had nothing to wear. Rather than purchase more clothes, I decided that I would re-evaluate my wardrobe first.


So I got on the Internet again and searched for how-to articles on wardrobe essentials. Here are some of the more practical ones I found suitable for an Asia-based audience. Given that our weather is different from those in Western countries, I suggest that some of you skip the outerwear that is not necessary:


2) Identify what you still need and what you no longer need.

After sorting through my wardrobe, I realised that I had many clothes that either didn’t fit me anymore, or that couldn’t match the rest of my wardrobe. So I set some pieces aside for a future clothes swap session, while the others were donated to a charity.


3) Host a clothes swap with friends and like-minded people.

I’ve decided to do this at a later date, as I want to try out the second-hand shops first, but I highly recommend it if you have plenty of excess clothing still in good condition, but that you want to get rid of.


4) Buy the rest at a second-hand shop.

A lot of people I know in Western countries shop for clothes at second-hand or thrift stores and often come away with quality pieces of clothing. During the coming weekend, I will be shopping for two basic pieces: a black skirt and a classic blouse, with a budget of RM200. I will be targeting the second-hand shops at Amcorp Mall. This is how I will begin my journey with slow fashion.


Stay tuned for more tales of my slow fashion adventures!

0 comments
bottom of page