top of page
  • Writer's pictureSharmila Ganapathy

five snazzy ethical fashion magazines for your reading list

Get inspired by these trend-setting ethical fashion magazines

You don't need to be a model to have great style

When I was in my late teens/early twenties, I sought style inspiration from fashion magazines such as Cleo, Vogue, Her World and Female. I used to envy the models and their impeccable style, and wonder to myself: “Why can’t I look like that?”


I reckon that age and maturity have mellowed me in some ways, but I still ache to look like a million dollars every now and then. The only thing that has changed is that I can’t squeeze into a size 1 dress anymore and I have a few grey hairs. I still want to look good every time I step out the front door, but I don’t aspire to have luxury or designer clothing like I did once upon a time.


I am more careful about where I shop these days (I only buy pre-loved clothing and the occasional brand-new item from ethical clothing brands) and I take good care of my clothes and accessories so that they last for years to come. I don’t obsess over trends anymore, but I still like looking at pretty clothes and well-put-together outfits, hence I often trawl the Internet for inspiration.


During my ‘online excursions’, I came across a few fashion publications that I liked, for one reason or another. Here they are:


Florum Fashion Magazine




According to the magazine’s website, the name ‘florum’ is Latin for ‘flowers’ and the magazine’s mission is “to further the movement for a more eco-conscious way of sustainable fashion, clean beauty, eco travel & a green lifestyle”. The magazine is rich in visuals to inspire you to style sustainably, no matter what your personal style is or body type. Visit them online at: http://www.florumfashion.com/


Eluxe Magazine




Eluxe has the satisfaction of being the world’s first sustainable luxury publication and deservedly so, as the magazine champions luxury/designer ethical fashion brands in every way. Plus there are several articles on fashion and style to satisfy even the pickiest ethical fashionista. What’s more, Eluxe donates 10% of its annual profits to environmental and animal charities, which won them brownie points with this blogger. Read them online at: http://eluxemagazine.com


Sublime Magazine




Although Sublime isn’t strictly about ethical fashion, it does have a fashion category featuring ethical fashion luxury brands, as well as articles about issues pertaining to the industry. Definitely a good resource for fashionistas with brains and big hearts. Read them online at: http://sublimemagazine.com/



Facon Magazine



Although I wasn’t initially impressed by the layout of this online magazine (it was a little too sparse and had too many white spaces for my liking), the content won me over. There are many fashion and style-related articles, as well as beauty tips and news geared towards women of all backgrounds. Visit them online at: http://www.faconmagazine.com/



Vilda Magazine




This Swedish fashion magazine is the world’s first digital vegan fashion magazine, which won me over immediately, although I’m not vegan. It has a clean, yet colourful layout and the content is consistent, though not always the latest. I’m going to overlook that, because I think it’s the quality that matters. An excellent resource for vegetarian/vegan shoppers. Read them online at: http://www.vildamagazine.com/


I hope you like these websites as much as I liked writing about them. If I’ve missed out any of your favourite online ethical fashion magazines, do recommend them in the comments section or e-mail me at fashionablykindblog@gmail.com. Have a fantastic week ahead, folks!



0 comments
bottom of page